whole wheat fig bars

26 Apr

whole wheat fig bars

I love figs and I love Fig Newtons. I’ve ventured into homemade fig cookie territory before with Fig Not-Ins from Vegan With a Vengeance. The Not-Ins are more like a fig cookie ravioli. The fig filling is sandwiched between two thin pieces of dough and sealed around the sides.

This time I tried the whole wheat fig bars from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. They are much easier to make since they are layered. The filling is really sweet and gooey. I hope it mellows out and becomes less sweet the longer they sit. The recipe says they are better the day after baking. I can’t wait to find out.

If you want to make your own fig bars, check out ReadyMade Magazine’s homemade Fig Newtons or Fat Free Vegan Kitchen’s Skinny Fig Bars. You may also be able to find the same recipe I used if you look on Google Books. But I didn’t tell you that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

