Fauxtess Cupcake Cake

29 Jul

Fauxtess birthday cake - it's like one big (vegan) cupcake

My friend Jimi really likes the Fauxtess Cupcakes from Vegan With a Vengeance. For his birthday, I decided to turn the recipe into a cake.

I doubled the cake recipe and used the fluffy buttercream frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World between the cakes. I then crumb coated it with the buttercream. I made sure to freeze the cake between the layers of frosting to help it set. Then I spread the chocolate ganache on it and used vegan royal icing for the decoration.

Fauxtess Cupcakes

I’ve made the cupcake version a few times and always use the fluffy buttercream instead of the white frosting listed it the recipe. The main reason is that I can’t find a good soy milk powder. The secondary reason is that I would never use such an ingredient except for these cupcakes. I hate to buy ingredients that I will only use for one recipe. I also omit the soy milk powder in the royal icing and it’s fine.

One Response to “Fauxtess Cupcake Cake”

  1. Jan Thomas July 30, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I want to go to there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

